About Värmland, Sweden

The county of Värmland, in Sweden, has a population of around 273,000 and an area of 17,586 square kilometres. There are 16 local authorities in Värmland. The Municipality of Torsby in north Värmland is the largest by area. Hammarö is the south is the smallest by area. The county town of Karlstad is the largest municipality, with a population of 85,000 and Munkfors the smallest with 3,700 inhabitants.

Värmland borders Norway in the west. The state border is just 100 km from Oslo, the capital of Norway. Stockholm, the capital of Sweden, is 250 km from the county boundary in the east.

Värmland is a county of lakes and rivers. It has 10,512 lakes. Lake Vänern in the south is the largest lake in western Europe. Lake Vänern has 22,000 islands. Other large and important lakes include Fryken, Glafsfjorden and Värmeln. The Klarälven river is a lifeblood that stretches some 300 km from north to south where it runs into Lake Vänern.

Granberget east of Höljes is the highest peak in Värmland, 701 metres above sea level. Tossebergsklätten between Sunne and Torsby, 342 metres above sea level, is another popular and thrilling vantage point.

Värmland has a very varied nature with several micro climates. The coast of Lake Vänern is in growing zone II while northern Värmland is in growing zone VII. This is because Lake Vänern acts as a heat reservoir in the south that results in a milder climate. In the north, it is closer to a mountain climate.

Värmland’s county symbols

Flower – Arctic Starflower
Animal – Wolf
Fish – Smelt
Bird – Red-throated Loon
Stone – Kyanite